Skip to content

INHERITANCE LAW


CONTRACT OF SUCCESSION AND INHERITANCE RENUNCIATION CONTRACTS

Not all property is passed on by Will or, if a valid will cannot be located, by the rules of intestate succession. There are Will alternatives. Contracts of Succession and Inheritance Renunciation Contracts are two examples.

What Is a Contract of Succession (aka Contract to Will)?

A Contract of Succession (aka Contract to Will) is a binding agreement between a Testator and another party, obligating the Testator to bequeath his estate or a portion thereof (a legacy) to that person or a third party (Legatee).

Initial Situation

During his lifetime, the Testator can buy, sell, spend or dispose of property as he pleases, so long as any gifts and testamentary transfers are compatible with the Testator’s obligations to the Legatee under the Contract of Succession. Otherwise testamentary dispositions or gifts are subject to challenge.

New, revised inheritance law (as of January 1, 2023)

The revised inheritance law better protects the beneficiary and provides for a fundamental ban on gifts as of January 1, 2023. The usual occasional gifts and reservations are excluded.

According to Art. 494, para. 3 revised Swiss Civil Code, testamentary dispositions and gifts inter vivos, except for customary occasional gifts, are subject to challenge insofar as they: (1) are incompatible with the obligations under the contract of inheritance, namely if they reduce the inheritance contract benefits; and (cumulative) (2) have not been stipulated in the contract of inheritance.

Clear reservations must be stipulated. Otherwise, you risk contesting the contract of inheritance on the grounds that it is contrary to the law and thus disturbing the family harmony.

Act and check existing inheritance contracts to ensure that they are compatible with the new inheritance law.

New, revised inheritance law (as of January 1, 2023): Loss of benefits provided for by contract of inheritance

Spouses may not raise any claims based on testamentary dispositions: after divorce; after the death of one spouse during divorce proceedings that result in the avoidance of the surviving spouse’s forced heirship (cf. Art. 120 par. 3 CC), unless there is an instruction to the contrary.

Hence, in these circumstances, contractual preferential treatment of the spouse or registered partner from dispositions taking effect on death lapse by operation of law.

Inheritance and marriage contract

An inheritance contract is often combined with a marriage contract and is a binding agreement between spouses. An inheritance contract is suitable for patchwork families in order to bind the second spouse regarding the transfer of assets upon his or her death. Furthermore, an inheritance contract can be used to bind a spouse with whom you are living in a second marriage to certain conditions in order to avoid disputes with children from a previous marriage. If you have children and wish to bind the other parent to bequeath property to the children upon the death of the second spouse, an inheritance contract may be considered.

A Contract of Succession may be suitable if:

  • You have remarried but do not want your spouse’s testamentary interests to supersede those of your children from a previous marriage.
  • You envision your spouse having more children after you die but want to prioritize your own children above those future children when the surviving spouse dies.
  • You have a blended family (children and stepchildren) and want to control how your surviving spouse allocates your assets when her or she dies. A Contract of Succession is often combined with a Marriage Contract – either Prenuptial or Postnuptial.

 

Differences between a Will and a Contract of Succession

Three crucial differences between a Will and a Contract of Succession are that (1) a Will is unilateral, and (2) its contents are, at your discretion, confidential, as your instructions can remain sealed until death. (3) Further, you can draft a new Will at any time and revoke your old one.

By contrast, a Contract of Succession and Marriage Contract are negotiated agreements, requiring (1) mutual informed consent (2) after information has been disclosed. They must be negotiated and notarized. I can help you negotiate and prepare both instruments. – All inheritance-related contracts must be notarized and are binding upon those who sign. They cannot be rescinded unilaterally. (3) Termination must be by mutual informed consent and in writing. A marriage contract must even be dissolved before a notary public, since a previous or different matrimonial property regime is agreed by marriage contract.

Inheritance Renunciation Contract

A testator and an heir can also enter into an Inheritance Renunciation Contract – with or without valuable consideration. In a renunciation contract, the renouncer agrees to exclude himself (and his descendants, unless otherwise agreed).

Heirs renounce inheritances for numerous reasons – some personal, some practical.

Whether You Favor Someone or Not, Ensure Transparency. Steal the Other Heirs’ Thunder.

You may remedy perceived favoritism of certain family members during your lifetime. For example, one child may have required special attention. You may have clothed, fed and financed him for ten years longer than his siblings. Or you financed only one child’s business, education or place of residence. In each instance, you may want to scale back the previously favored child’s testamentary expectations and seek to restore fairness via reapportionment of your assets upon death. You can, of course, make such determinations unilaterally in your Will, but there are reasons for transparency and acceptance.

Valuation

Another common reason for inheritance-related contracts is Valuation. It is sometimes beneficial for heirs to agree in advance and in writing to the value of, or means of valuing, an indivisible, hard-to-appraise asset, e.g., a privately-held business, family heirloom or “priceless” work of art.

Particularly in the case of art objects in the Swiss estate, the question arises as to whether they qualify as tax-exempt household effects or as taxable assets.

Waiver of the Compulsory Share

The impetus for most Will alternatives is to waive one or more Compulsory Shares otherwise dictated by statute. For example, a second spouse may waive his or her compulsory share in exchange for a lump-sum payment, so you can divide the remainder of your estate among your natural born children. The converse may also occur: the children set aside their compulsory share in exchange for a pre-negotiated payment. Compulsory shares can only be waived by signed and notarized contract.

Brief Summary

If an estate is to be settled independently of the statutory claims to a compulsory portion, a publicly notarized inheritance contract may be concluded, provided that all parties concerned agree and cooperate. For example, heirs may waive their right to a compulsory portion. Or heirs to a compulsory portion declare their agreement to the appointment of a preliminary and subsequent heir. Or with children from the first marriage, a waiver of inheritance is made in exchange for payment. Or an imputed value is set, such as the value of a property in the case of an anticipated inheritance.

Do you need help balancing the pros and cons of a will and its various contractual alternatives? Putting pen to paper? Dotting your i’s and crossing your t’s? I can make sure your wishes are articulated properly and executed. Call me for a consultation.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Zum Inhalt springen

Erbrecht


ERBVERTRAG: ERBEINSETZUNGS- UND VERMÄCHTNISVERTRAG; ERBVERZICHTSVERTRAG ODER ERBAUSKAUF

Nicht alles Vermögen wird durch ein Testament oder, wenn ein gültiges Testament nicht auffindbar ist, durch die Regeln der gesetzlichen Erbfolge vererbt. Es gibt Alternativen zum Testament. Erbeinsetzungs- und Erbverzichtsverträge sind zwei Beispiele.

Was ist ein Erbvertrag?

Ein Erbvertrag ist eine verbindliche Vereinbarung zwischen einem Erblasser und einer anderen Partei. Der Erblasser verpflichtet sich, ihm oder einem Dritten seinen Nachlass oder ein Vermächtnis zu hinterlassen.

Ausgangslage

Zu Lebzeiten kann der Erblasser unter Eigentum kaufen, verkaufen, ausgeben oder veräussern, wie es ihm beliebt, solange alle Schenkungen und Verfügungen von Todes wegen mit den Verpflichtungen des Erblassers aus dem Erbvertrag vereinbar sind. Andernfalls sind sie anfechtbar.

Neues, revidiertes Erbrecht (ab 1.1.2023)

Das revidierte Erbrecht schützt den Bedachten besser und sieht ab dem 1.1.2023 ein grundsätzliches Schenkungsverbot bzw. Verbot für lebzeitige Zuwendungen vor. Ausgenommen sind übliche Gelegenheitsgeschenke und Vorbehalte.

Nach Art. 494 Abs. 3 revZGB unterliegen Verfügungen von Todes wegen und Zuwendungen unter Lebenden, mit Ausnahme der üblichen Gelegenheitsgeschenke, der Anfechtung, soweit sie: (1) im Erbvertrag nicht vorbehalten worden sind; und (2) mit den Verpflichtungen aus dem Erbvertrag nicht vereinbar sind, namentlich wenn sie die ebvertraglichen Begünstigungen schmälern.

Handeln Sie und prüfen bestehende Erbverträge, ob sie mit dem neuen Erbrecht vereinbar sind.

In der Nachlassplanung ist dies zu beachten. Eindeutige Vorbehalte sind zu vereinbaren. Ansonsten riskieren Sie die Anfechtung wegen Erbvertragswidrigkeit und somit die Störung des Familienfriedens.

Ehe- und Erbvertrag

Ein Erbvertrag wird oft mit einem Ehevertrag kombiniert und ist eine verbindliche Vereinbarung zwischen Eheleuten. Ein Erbvertrag eignet sich bei Patchworkfamilien, um den zweiten Ehepartner hinsichtlich Vermögensübergangs bei seinem Tod zu binden. Ferner kann mit Erbvertrag ein Ehepartner, mit dem Sie in zweiter Ehe leben, an Bedingungen knüpfen, um Streit mit Kindern aus einer früheren Ehe zu vermeiden. Wenn Sie Kinder haben und den anderen Elternteil verpflichten wollen, den Kindern beim Tod des zweiten Ehepartners Vermögen zu hinterlassen, kommt ein Erbvertrag in Betracht.

Unterschiede zwischen Testament und Erbvertrag

Drei grundlegende Unterschiede zwischen einem Testament und einem Erbvertrag sind, dass (1) ein Testament einseitig und (2) sein Inhalt nach Ihrem Belieben vertraulich ist. (3) Ferner ist ein Testament frei widerruflich.

Im Gegensatz dazu sind ein Erbvertrag und ein Ehevertrag ausgehandelte Vereinbarungen, die (1) gegenseitiges Einverständnis (2) nach erfolgter Offenlegung von Informationen erfordern. Alle erbrechtlichen Verträge sind notariell zu beurkunden und für die Unterzeichnenden verbindlich. (3) Mit anderen Worten haben alle Vertragsschliessenden einer Aufhebung eines Erbvertrages schriftlich zuzustimmen. Ein Ehevertrag ist sogar vor einem Notar aufzulösen, da ein früherer oder anderer Güterstand durch Ehevertrag vereinbart wird.

Erbverzichtsvertrag

Ein Erblasser und ein Erbe können auch einen Erbverzichtsvertrag abschliessen – mit oder ohne Gegenleistung. In einem Erbverzichtsvertrag erklärt sich der Verzichtende bereit, sich selbst (und seine Nachkommen) von der Erbschaft auszuschliessen, sofern nichts anderes vereinbart ist.

Erben verzichten aus zahlreichen Gründen auf das Erbe – manche aus persönlichen, manche aus praktischen.

Jemanden bevorzugen oder nicht. Sorgen Sie für Transparenz. Nehmen Sie den anderen Erben den Wind aus den Segeln.

Eine Bevorzugung von bestimmten Familienmitgliedern zu Lebzeiten hat oft einen guten Grund. Möglicherweise möchten Sie diese Bevorzugung bestehen lassen oder beheben. Zum Beispiel kann ein Kind besondere Aufmerksamkeit benötigt haben. Sie haben es vielleicht zehn Jahre lang länger gekleidet, ernährt und finanziert als seine Geschwister. Oder Sie haben nur einem Kind das Geschäft, die Ausbildung oder ein Haus finanziert. Vielleicht wollen Sie die Erwartungen des bisher begünstigten Kindes zurückschrauben und durch eine Neuverteilung des Vermögens nach dem Tod die «Fairness» wiederherstellen. Natürlich können Sie solche Festlegungen zu Schenkungen und Erbvorbezügen einseitig in Ihrem Testament regeln. Doch es gibt Gründe für Transparenz und Akzeptanz. 

Wertermittlung

Ein weiterer häufiger Grund für erbschaftsbezogene Verträge ist die Wertermittlung. Manchmal ist es für die Erben von Vorteil, sich im Voraus und schriftlich auf den Wert oder die Art und Weise der Bewertung eines unteilbaren, schwer zu bewertenden Vermögenswertes zu einigen, z. B. eines privat gehaltenen Unternehmens, eines Familienerbstücks oder eines “unbezahlbaren” Kunstwerks.

Gerade bei Kunstgegenständen im Schweizer Nachlass stellt sich die Frage, ob diese als steuerfreier Hausrat oder als steuerbare Vermögensanlage qualifiziert werden.

Verzicht auf den Pflichtteil

Der Anstoss für die allermeisten Testamentsalternativen ist der Verzicht auf einen oder mehrere Pflichtteile, die sonst gesetzlich vorgeschrieben sind. Es ist denkbar, dass ein Kind oder mehrere Kinder auf ihren Pflichtteil gegen eine vorher ausgehandelte Zahlung verzichten. Ein Pflichtteilsverzicht erfolgt durch einen unterschriebenen und notariell beurkundeten Vertrag.

Kurzzusammenfassung

Ist ein Nachlass unabhängig von den gesetzlichen Pflichtteilsansprüchen zu regeln, so kann ein öffentlich beurkundeter Erbvertrag geschlossen werden, sofern alle Betroffenen einverstanden sind und mitwirken. Beispielsweise können Nachkommen auf ihre Pflichtteilsansprüche verzichten. Oder Pflichtteilserben erklären sich mit einer Vor- und Nacherbeneinsetzung einverstanden. Oder mit Kindern aus erster Ehe wird ein Erbverzicht gegen Entgelt vereinbart. Oder ein Anrechnungswert wird festgesetzt, wie der Wert eines Grundstückes bei einem Erbvorbezug.

Benötigen Sie Unterstützung bei der Abwägung des Für und Wider eines Testaments und der verschiedenen vertraglichen Alternativen? Wollen Sie zur Feder greifen? Peinlich genau bis ins kleinste Detail? Ich kann dafür sorgen, dass Ihre Wünsche richtig formuliert und durchgesetzt werden. Rufen Sie mich für ein Beratungsgespräch an.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial